Parawai Tramping Club


The Parawai Tramping Club formed in 1969 following a public meeting of interested people. The club started with 33 members, with current membership around 80. In 1970 the club built Parawai Lodge at Otaki Forks. The club managed and maintained Parawai Lodge until 1987. At that time, the Department of Conservation established a centralised model for the management of huts in the Tararua Forest Park. Parawai Lodge continues to be one of the more popular huts in the Tararua Ranges. The first South Island trip was in 1974 and since then the club has visited areas in the South Island from Stewart Island to Marlborough Sounds.

Life Members

Our first Life Member was elected in 1971 and since then eight further Life Members have been elected:

  • Ray Ede 1971
  • Graham Hedley & Ray Johnson 1973
  • John Cox & Josie Cox 1987
  • Bob Gyton & Valma Gyton 2003
  • Ian Bade 2012
  • Owen Cox 2017

Club Archive

The club maintains a comprehensive archive of Trip Reports and other material.
To view any particular set of files from our archive just select below.